Sausage Party Review

Directors: Greg Tiernan, Conrad Vernon

Writers: Kyle Hunter, Ariel Shaffir, Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg

Cast: Seth Rogen(Frank), Michael Cera (Barry), Kristen Wiig (Brenda), Edward Norton (Sammy), Jonah Hill (Carl), Salma Hayek (Teresa), Bill Hader (Firewater), Danny McBride (Honey Mustard), Nick Kroll (Douche)

Running time: 89 minutes

Review

Is Sausage Party worth your time? Was it worth mine? Read my review and find out!

I loved the cast in Sausage Party and they did their best to get significant laughs out of me. Seth Rogen was good, but Michael Cera shined in his role as Barry. His story in the film was the one that I wanted to see the most. There’s just something about his voice that makes him so funny. Danny McBride was great in his limited role as honey mustard (I really wanted him to be in more of the movie). Kristen Wiig did a great job as Brenda, she had great lines and she delivered them well. She may actually be able to sustain a career in acting, unlike so many of her SNL counterparts. Nick Kroll’s character was idiotic and unnecessary, we’ll get on that next.

sausage-party-movie-2016-characters
Just the TIIIIIIPPPPPSSSSSSS. (Picture via https://threenovices.wordpress.com)

Nick Kroll’s character (Douche) was not needed in a film about food. I’m pretty sure you can’t get that stuff at the supermarket. Add on the fact that he wasn’t funny at all and you have yourself a crappy character. Every scene that he was in was stupid and boring. I just don’t find him funny because he is the character he portrays in every single project he’s in.

Coming into Sausage Party, I had expectations that it would be one of the funniest animated films ever, but I was sorely mistaken. It was a case of the trailers being funnier than the actual film. Although Sausage Party was pretty funny, the trailer scenes were by far the best in the film. I’ve even been thinking about not watching trailers for comedies anymore. Since they’re shorter movies, it may not even be worth it to watch them.

One of the best parts about it however, was that the directors were able to humanize the food in the film. They made me care about their journey and problems that occurred during it. Now, every time I eat a potato I’m going to think about if it’s screaming in agony while I’m eating it. Sorry, but potatoes are just too tasty to give up.

sausage-party-trailer-2
He has a look of pure terror on his face. #RipPotato (Picture via yzgeneration.com)

The writers also dealt with issues of religion in Sausage Party. At first, I thought they were being a bit too harsh with their criticisms, but at the end they really brought up some very good points about the importance of beliefs and respecting them. I wasn’t expecting this film to have a meta discussion about religion but they actually handled it well. It had a lot of similarities to the world and what happens in it today.

I came out of the theater after watching Sausage Party in disappointment. They squandered a great concept with too many cheap laughs. While it was pretty funny in some parts, I felt that it could’ve been WAY better than it was. It was definitely a missed opportunity because it had so much potential. It did have some well written moments and it was smarter in some places than I thought it would be. I was underwhelmed by Sausage Party, but you should watch it if you like the kind of humor in a Seth Rogen film.

On a side note, Greg Tiernan also directed a few Thomas and Friends films. What a change of scenery for him.

P.S (DO NOT BRING YOUR YOUNG CHILDREN TO WATCH THIS FILM AS SOMEONE IN MY THEATER DID. IT IS NOT FOR CHILDREN).

I give Sausage Party, a…

2.5 out of 4

Leave a Reply

