Daniel Craig Reportedly Out As James Bond

According to The Daily Mail, Daniel Craig turned down a £68 million deal that was offered in exchange for two his service in two more James Bond films. This seems like the nail in the coffin that we have all been waiting for. This news is not surprising, especially since Craig stated in October that, “I’d rather … slash my wrists” than play James Bond again (Time Out Magazine). Wow, who would’ve thought making millions of dollars to play a world renowned secret agent is slit-wrist inducing?

craig.jpg
Bye bye, maybe?

Part of me is elated about this news, because for the most part, I have not enjoyed the post-Brosnan Bond films. Although I enjoyed Spectre more than Skyfall, (Review here: https://4starmovies.wordpress.com/2015/11/07/spectre-review/) Spectre was still an inconsistent film with major tonal issues. Those problems aren’t all on Craig, but he was responsible for some. The other part of me is a little bit disappointed, because Craig was definitely a good Bond. He had the looks/swagger, and he also made the action sequences believable. As you can see, I’m split, but I’ll be fine as long as Eon productions can find a suitable replacement.

Now on to who might replace Craig as Bond, right now it’s anyone’s guess. Tom Hardy, Idris Elba, Tom Hiddleston, Michael Fassbender, and a couple others could be in the running to play the next Bond. If I had to pick one, I’d go with Fassbender. I think he’s the perfect candidate, he looks the part and he is a very good actor. As an actor, Fassbender has more range than Craig, so I would be intrigued to see Fassbender play Bond. Either way, big changes are coming, only time will tell if the Bond franchise continues to be a gold mine for audiences everywhere.

Leave a Reply

