Five Must-See May Movies

May is here, and with May comes scorching heat. Fortunately, we live in a society where air conditioning is the norm. Well now that we have air conditioning what should we do with out free time over the month? Would you guys like to know the best place to kill time? My pick is your local movie theater, provided it has air conditioning. Why? Movies are the best form of entertainment known to man. There are so many movies in theaters that it can sometimes be difficult to choose which one to watch. I’m here to help, here are my five must-see films for the month of May.

Captain America: Civil War (May 6)

captain-america-civil-war-poster
Best buddies no more

Captain America: Civil War is the first film since The Revenant that I’ve truly been excited for (wait I forgot about Zack Snyder vs. Superman). I’ve been on this films bandwagon since it was first announced a couple years ago. Once I read the plot synopsis, I was hooked. Two monumental superheroes on opposite sides? Sign me up! Civil War is helmed by the up and coming Russo brothers. This is the second Captain America film that the Russo brothers directed, Captain America: The Winter Soldier was the first. Civil War hasn’t debuted yet, but it currently has a 94% on Rotten Tomatoes and I think it will hover around the 90% mark even after release. I cannot wait to see the Black Panther in action, this will be his first appearance in a live-action film. Not to mention, Spider Man will be making an appearance in Civil War as well! Gone are the days of an inconsistent representation of Spider Man by the hands of Sony, Marvel has the rights to the character now. I’m really excited for this film and millions of people share my sentiment.

Money Monster (May 13)

moneymonstersmall

Money Monster isn’t getting much buzz for some reason, maybe George Clooney isn’t an A-list actor anymore. My guess is that the release date has killed any hype for this film. May looks to be a huge month for film, and a politically charged Wall Street thriller might not be what people want to see. This is the type of movie that you have to be in the mood for. Regardless of the lack of buzz for the film, Money Monster has the potential to be very good. George Clooney always gives his best, and surely Julia Roberts will be strong as well. However I’m most excited to see Jack O’ Connell in Money Monster, I think he’s a really talented actor with a lot of potential. I feel like he deserves a chance to star in a successful breakout film. Unbroken doesn’t count as a breakout picture because it was vastly underwhelming thanks to Angelina Jolie’s mediocre direction. If O’ Connell is the third listed actor in this film, you know there’s talent across the board. If you want a thought-provoking thriller, see Money Monster on May 13th.

The Nice Guys (May 20)

nice-guys-poster-600x889
I’ve been waiting months for this film

There has been a dip in quality action comedies in recent years, The Nice Guys should change that. Everything points to this being a hilarious, action packed film. The trailers are hilarious, the cast is great, and the very experienced Shane Black is directing it. Every single trailer I’ve seen was hilarious. I love that The Nice Guys takes place in the 1970’s, there should be plenty of pretty muscle cars to see even if the movie sucks (it won’t). I truly think that The Nice Guys can be The Other Guys sequel movie fans have been waiting for. To me, this film has the exact same vibe as The Other Guys, and The Nice Guys is my number 1 most anticipated film of the summer.

Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising (May 20)

neighbors.jpg
Neighbors was very funny, hopefully the sequel is just as good if not better.

Neighbors was a raunchy and sometimes off-putting comedy, but it was fun as hell. It’s the type of R rated comedy that a guy like me can appreciate. Sometimes I like to watch films that represent what I do night in and night out (I’m being 100% honest here…) Neighbors accomplished just that. It was incredibly entertaining to watch Seth Rogen and Rose Byrne (Rogen’s wife in the story) duke it out with Zac Efron. In Neighbors 2, it’s Rogen, Byrne AND Efron vs Chloe Grace Moretz. I have my reservations about Moretz’ comedic talents, but I’ll hold my judgement until I see Neighbors 2Neighbors 2 could be sneaky good, but I most likely won’t be seeing it in theaters. I am a poor college student, in the words of Ryan Gosling’s character in The Nice Guys, “It’s the recession.”

X-Men: Apocalypse (May 27)

XMENApoc

 A week ago I would not have put this film on my list, but the most recent trailer for X-Men Apocalypse sold me. What was so good about the trailer?  Here’s a hint, it involves adamantium claws. In the final trailer we got a glimpse of Wolverine’s claws, so yes Wolverine will be in Apocalypse. Most of the X-Men stink, but I really love Wolverine (played by Hugh Jackman). Maybe it’s the sheer ferocity of the character, or maybe Jackman fits the role perfectly, but for whatever reason Wolverine is hands down one of the best comic book characters to ever grace the big screen. In my opinion, the X-Men are not a compelling super team. That doesn’t mean I haven’t enjoyed any X-Men films. I am of the opinion that X2 is one of the greatest superhero films of the 2000’s, as you can see my bias isn’t too harsh. The villain in this film is the much anticipated Apocalypse (you guessed it), played by Oscar Isaac. I’m disappointed in Oscar Isaac’s rendition of Apocalypse (from what I’ve seen in the trailers), but I still think Apocalypse will turn out to be a very threatening villain. I also love the setting choice for Apocalypse, any film that takes place in the 1980’s gets an A+ from me. Apocalypse is directed by Bryan Singer, a very successful director. I am confident that Singer can find the same success with Apocalypse that he had with X2 and The Usual Suspects. X-Men Apocalypse should be an entirely different superhero film than Civil War in terms of tone and style, that’s one of the main reasons I’m anxious to see it. I didn’t really like Days of Future Past, Apocalypse should be far better.

Want to read more stuff like this? Check out our homepage and follow us on email/twitter/WordPress!

 

 

Leave a Reply

